Alerts
Alerts

Healthcare Practice: FTC Delays Enforcement of Red Flag Rules

FTC Delays Enforcement of Red Flag Rules

The Federal Trade Commission ("FTC") announced yesterday that it will delay enforcement of the Red Flags Rule until November 1, 2009 for some entities, such as health care providers and small businesses. This deadline extension will allow the FTC to "redouble its efforts to educate them about compliance with the Red Flags Rule and ease compliance by providing additional resources and guidance to clarify whether businesses are covered by the Rule and what they must do to comply." Additionally, the FTC stated that this extension will give parties "more time to review this guidance and develop and implement written Identity Theft Prevention Programs." This announcement came less than 72 hours prior to the previously-scheduled August 1, 2009 compliance deadline. 

For more information on the Red Flags Rule, read our previous Alert.

The link to the FTC's press release.

If you have any questions concerning the Red Flags Rule, please contact:

Jane Pine Wood, 508.385.5227 jwood@mcdonaldhopkins.com

John T. Mulligan, 216.348.5435 jmulligan@mcdonaldhopkins.com

Rick L. Hindmand, 312.280.0111 rhindmand@mcdonaldhopkins.com

Rachel Solomon,312.280.0111 rsolomon@mcdonaldhopkins.com

Healthcare Practice Group

McDonald Hopkins has a large and diverse health law practice, which is national in scope. The firm represents a wide variety of healthcare providers, facilities, vendors, technology companies and associations. Our diverse experience enables us to give our clients a unique perspective on the issues that may confront them in the rapidly evolving healthcare environment.

 

Richard S. Cooper, Chair

Healthcare Practice Group

216.348.5438

rcooper@mcdonaldhopkins.com

Melissa Asbrock

216.348.5740

masbrock@mcdonaldhopkins.com

Michael Caputo

216.348.5770

mcaputo@mcdonaldhopkins.com

Thomas W. Carton, Jr.

614.458.0036

tcarton@mcdonaldhopkins.com

Christal L. Contini

216.348.5455

ccontini@mcdonaldhopkins.com

David B. Cupar

216.430.2036

dcupar@mcdonaldhopkins.com

Victor T. Geraci

216.430.2026

vgeraci@mcdonaldhopkins.com

Steven M. Harris

312.280.0111

sharris@mcdonaldhopkins.com

Rick L. Hindmand

312.642.2203

rhindmand@mcdonaldhopkins.com 

Mark D. Klimek

216.348.5453

mklimek@mcdonaldhopkins.com

Anthony D. Konkoly

216.348.5746

akonkoly@mcdonaldhopkins.com

Lisa S. Lauer

312.642.1798

llauer@mcdonaldhopkins.com

Susan McGlone

216.430.2022

smcglone@mcdonaldhopkins.com

Ned M. Milenkovich

312.642.1480

nmilenkovich@mcdonaldhopkins.com

John T. Mulligan

216.348.5435

jmulligan@mcdonaldhopkins.com

Connor P. Patton

614.458.0043

cpatton@mcdonaldhopkins.com

Todd Sarver

614.458.0042

tsarver@mcdonaldhopkins.com

Rachel Solomon

312.642.2856

rsolomon@mcdonaldhopkins.com

Jennifer L. Stapleton

216.430.2020

jstapleton@mcdonaldhopkins.com

Elizabeth A. Sullivan

216.348.5842

esullivan@mcdonaldhopkins.com

Michael W. Wise

216.430.2034

mwise@mcdonaldhopkins.com

Jane Pine Wood

508.385.5227

jwood@mcdonaldhopkins.com

Chicago | Cleveland | Columbus | Detroit | West Palm Beach

© 2009 McDonald Hopkins LLC All Rights Reserved

This Alert is designed to provide current information for our clients, friends and their advisors regarding important legal developments. The foregoing discussion is general information rather than specific legal advice. Because it is necessary to apply legal principles to specific facts, always consult your legal advisor before using this discussion as a basis for a specific action.