2019 maximum charges for copies of medical records in Michigan
Michigan recently updated the maximum amount health care providers can charge for copies of medical records. The Medical Records Access Act states that if a patient or a patient’s authorized representative requests copies of medical records, health care providers or facilities may charge a fee. These fees are adjusted annually by the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services.
General requests for copies of medical records. For 2019, the following maximum fees apply when the request comes from a patient or a patient’s personal representative:
- $25.06 – initial fee*
- $1.25/page for the first 20 pages
- $0.63/page for pages 21 through 50
- $0.25/page for pages 51 and higher
*Patients cannot be charged the initial fee for copies of their own medical records but all other fees apply.
Workers' compensation. Requests for copies for use in workers’ compensation cases fall under different rules. The maximum fee for providing copies under a workers’ compensation subpoena is $0.45 per page, plus the actual cost of mailing. Additionally, the time for the staff to retrieve and copy the records can be charged as follows:
- 0-15 minutes: $2.50
- Each additional 15-minute increment: $2.50
Providers are also permitted to charge for the cost of copying workers compensation medical records requested without a subpoena. Please note that only records for a specific date of injury are covered by the Health Care Services Rule. These records are reimbursed at $0.45/page plus the actual cost of mailing. Additionally, providers can charge an administrative fee for the time spent by staff retrieving and copying the records as follows:
- Each 15-minute increment: $2.50
These costs apply to all records and reports, except the original copy required under Rule 113 which must be provided to the carrier at no additional cost unless an exception applies. Records outside the specific injury date can be charged at the standard rates cited above.