Ohio Statehouse Update: This Week in Ohio -- January 16, 2015


House committee chairs announced for the 131st General Assembly

Speaker of the Ohio House Cliff Rosenberger (R-Clarksville) and Minority Leader Fred Strahorn (D-Dayton) announced this week a new House committee structure, along with committee chairs, vice chairs, and ranking members for the Ohio House of Representatives. As is typically the case with a new speaker, the amount and names of the committees have slightly changed from the previous General Assembly.

“Along with the addition of two new standing committees, we have added the Minority Affairs Subcommittee, which builds the framework for further bipartisan collaboration,” Speaker Rosenberger said. “I know all chairs, vice chairs and ranking members stand ready to lead and to guide the pathway of legislation that makes sense for Ohio.”

"With this committee leadership in place, we have the right people in the right positions to take on the important issues facing Ohioans,” said Leader Strahorn. “These members have a strong, diverse and focused mix of talents and abilities that will contribute to a higher quality of life for everyday Ohioans.”

Full House committee membership could be announced as early as next week. The Senate has not yet announced any committee assignments, but is expected to do so by the end of January.

The House committees, as well as the members who will lead each committee, are as follows:

Agriculture and Rural Development
Chair: Rep. Brian Hill (R-Zanesville)
Vice chair: Rep. Tony Burkley (R-Payne)
Ranking member: Rep. John Patterson (D-Jefferson)

Armed Services, Veterans Affairs, and Public Safety
Chair: Rep. Terry Johnson (R-McDermott)
Vice chair: Rep. Rick Perales (R-Beavercreek)
Ranking member: Rep. Hearcel Craig (D-Columbus)

Commerce and Labor
Chair: Rep. Ron Young (R-Leroy Township)
Vice chair: Rep. Anthony DeVitis (R-Green)
Ranking member: Rep. Michele Lepore-Hagan (D-Youngstown)

Community and Family Advancement
Chair: Rep. Tim Derickson (R-Oxford)
Vice chair: Rep. Tim Ginter (R-Salem)
Ranking member: Rep. Stephanie Howse (D-Cleveland)
Community and Family Advancement Subcommittee
Minority Affairs (Chair: Rep. Kevin Boyce, D-Columbus)

Economic and Workforce Development
Chair: Rep. Nan Baker (R-Westlake)
Vice chair: Rep. Mark Romanchuk (R-Ontario)
Ranking member: Rep. Kent Smith (D-Euclid)

Chair: Rep. Bill Hayes (R-Harrison Township)
Vice chair: Rep. Andrew Brenner (R-Powell)
Ranking member: Rep. Teresa Fedor (D-Toledo)

Energy and Natural Resources
Chair: Rep. Al Landis (R-Dover)
Vice chair: Rep. Christina Hagan (R-Alliance)
Ranking member: Rep. Sean O’Brien (D-Bazetta)

Finance and Appropriations
Chair: Rep. Ryan Smith (R-Bidwell)
Vice chair: Rep. Kirk Schuring (R-Canton)
Ranking member: Rep. Denise Driehaus (D-Cincinnati)
Finance and Appropriations Subcommittees
Agriculture, Development, and Natural Resources (Chair: Rep. Andy Thompson (R-Marietta), Ranking member: Rep. Sean O’Brien (D-Bazetta))
Health and Human Services (Chair: Rep. Robert Sprague (R-Findlay), Ranking member: Rep. Emilia Sykes (D-Akron))
Higher Education (Chair: Rep. Mike Duffey (R-Worthington), Ranking member: Rep. Dan Ramos (D-Lorain))
Transportation (Chair: Rep. Cheryl Grossman (R-Grove City), Ranking member: Rep. Alicia Reece (D-Cincinnati))
Primary and Secondary Education (Chair: Rep. Bob Cupp (R-Lima), Ranking member: Rep. Debbie Phillips (D-Albany))

Financial Institutions, Housing, and Urban Development
Chair: Rep. Lou Terhar (R-Green Township)
Vice chair: Rep. Steve Hambley (R-Brunswick)
Ranking member: Rep. Christie Bryant Kuhns (D-Cincinnati)

Government Accountability and Oversight
Chair: Rep. Tim Brown (R-Bowling Green)
Vice chair: Rep. Bill Blessing (R-Colerain Township)
Ranking member: Rep. Kathleen Clyde (D-Kent)

Health and Aging
Chair: Rep. Anne Gonzales (R-Westerville)
Vice chair: Rep. Steve Huffman (R-Tipp City)
Ranking member: Rep. Nickie Antonio (D-Lakewood)

Chair: Rep. Robert Hackett (R-London)
Vice chair: Rep. Mike Henne (R-Clayton)
Ranking member: Rep. Heather Bishoff (D-Blacklick)
Chair: Rep. Jim Butler (R-Oakwood)
Vice chair: Rep. Nathan Manning (R-North Ridgeville)
Ranking member: Rep. Michael Stinziano (D-Columbus)

Local Government
Chair: Rep. Marlene Anielski (R-Walton Hills)
Vice chair: Rep. Scott Ryan (R-Granville Township)
Ranking member: Rep. John Rogers (D-Mentor-on-the-Lake)

Public Utilities
Chair: Rep. Tim Schaffer (R-Lancaster)
Vice chair: Rep. Kristina Daley Roegner (R-Hudson)
Ranking member: Rep. Mike Ashford (D-Toledo)

Rules and Reference
Chair: Rep. Ron Amstutz (R-Wooster)
Vice chair: Speaker Clifford A. Rosenberger (R-Clarksville)
Ranking member: Minority Leader Fred Strahorn (D-Dayton)

State Government
Chair: Rep. Ron Maag (R-Lebanon)
Vice chair: Rep. Stephanie Kunze (R-Hilliard)
Ranking member: Rep. Ronald Gerberry (D-Austintown)

Transportation and Infrastructure
Chair: Rep. Terry Boose (R-Norwalk)
Vice chair: Rep. Doug Green (R-Mt. Orab)
Ranking member: Rep. Michael Sheehy (D-Oregon)

Ways and Means
Chair: Rep. Jeff McClain (R-Upper Sandusky)
Vice chair: Rep. Gary Scherer (R-Circleville)
Ranking member: Rep. Jack Cera (D-Bellaire)

PUCO Nominating Council to interview candidates

The Public Utilities Commission of Ohio (PUCO) Nominating Council is scheduled to meet on Jan. 22 to interview applicants for the position of commissioner of the PUCO to fill a five-year term commencing on April 11, 2015. Commissioner Steven Lesser, who currently occupies the position, has submitted his application to be reappointed. In what has become a crowded field of candidates, the Nominating Council will meet with nine applicants next week.

Of particular note, Department of Commerce Director Andre Porter is among the applicants that will be interviewed next week. Prior to being appointed Director of Commerce, Porter served as a PUCO Commissioner from 2011 to 2013.

The Nominating Council will select four candidates to submit to Gov. John Kasich for his consideration to fill the commissioner term commencing on April 11, 2015. The governor’s appointment must be confirmed by the Ohio Senate.

The public session will be webcast live at www.PUCO.ohio.gov/apps/webcast.

For more information, please contact:

Michael Caputo
(non-attorney professional)

Rebecca M. Kuhns
(non-attorney professional)

Aaron M. Ockerman
(non-attorney professional)

Todd Snitchler

Government affairs work is so much more than networking with government officials. It requires a strategic plan drafted by specialists who understand economic development and legislative issues. We help identify ways the government can contribute a solution to a business challenge, such as complying with regulatory and legislative mandates, securing funding for an important project, or obtaining government contracts. Our Government Affairs team has an impressive background. They work together to listen to clients, assess opportunities and recommend how government might contribute to achieving the goal.

Jump to Page

McDonald Hopkins uses cookies on our website to enhance user experience and analyze website traffic. Third parties may also use cookies in connection with our website for social media, advertising and analytics and other purposes. By continuing to browse our website, you agree to our use of cookies as detailed in our updated Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use.