Bill is the firm's General Counsel and maintains an active litigation practice. He previously served as the chair of the firm’s Litigation Department for 17 years and as a member of the firm's Board of Directors and Executive Committee for 21 years. Bill has extensive experience in numerous areas of litigation. He has defended claims against firm clients in state and federal courts and administrative agencies throughout Ohio and surrounding states in connection with employment, products liability, professional liability, data privacy, insurance coverage, health care, and commercial litigation.

Bill has substantial experience in class action litigation in the employment, data privacy and health care areas and currently serves as National Coordinating Counsel for the toxic tort litigation of two multinational corporations. He has been appointed by the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Ohio to its Alternative Dispute Resolution Panel and by the Cuyahoga County Court of Common Pleas to its Panel of Mediators. He is a Life Member of the Judicial Conference of the Eighth Judicial District.

Bill is one of the firm's representatives to, and a member of the Board of Directors of, the International Lawyers Network (ILN), an association of 91 full-service law firms with over 5,000 lawyers worldwide.

Bill earned a J.D., cum laude, from The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law in 1985. He received a B.A., cum laude, from Assumption College in 1982.

Honors & Recognition

Selected for inclusion in Ohio Super Lawyers (2008-2023)

Named one of the Best Lawyers in America (2013-2024)



The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law

Assumption College

Admissions – Court

Admissions – State

Professional & Civic

Professional Activities

Cleveland Metropolitan Bar Association

Ohio State Bar Association

Federal Bar Association

Defense Research Institute

American Health Lawyers Association

Community Involvement

Lawyers Guild of the Catholic Diocese of Cleveland – Member, Executive Committee (2005-2013)

Holy Spirit Parish Council – President (2002-2005)

Big Brothers Big Sisters of Lorain County – Board Member (2008-2012)

Alyce J & Ann J. Metka Charitable Foundation – Trustee

News & Insights

Jump to Page

McDonald Hopkins uses cookies on our website to enhance user experience and analyze website traffic. Third parties may also use cookies in connection with our website for social media, advertising and analytics and other purposes. By continuing to browse our website, you agree to our use of cookies as detailed in our updated Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use.